AFC change the qualification for the ACL


Remember what you read on here just 24 hours ago? Well scrap the majority of it because today the Asian Football Confederation changed who qualifies for its annual club tournament. The dates that I posted up last night appear to be unchanged but the amount of automatic qualifiers and the amount of teams who will have to pre-qualify has changed. From the Australian perspective Adelaide United will be in the qualification round with this shake up, and Brisbane Roar FC and Central Coast Mariners are both also still in the group phase which begins in Match.


Here is the current setup, as outlined by the AFC earlier this afternoon:


East Zone – Direct Entrants

Japan 4

Korea Republic 3

China 3

Australia 2

Thailand 1

Uzbekistan 1

East Zone – Playoff Entrants

Korea Republic 1

China 1

Australia 1

Thailand 1

Indonesia 1


West Zone – Direct Entrants

Qatar 4

Saudi Arabia 3


Uzbekistan 2

Iran 2

West Zone – Playoff Entrants

Iran 2

Saudi Arabia 1


Uzbekistan 1


Obviously the big change and the biggest point of contention has to be that Uzbekistan now has a spot in both halves of the draw, to me that makes absolutely no sense at all and could throw Brisbane’s season into chaos if a trip to Tashkent is required in the middle of the finals. Apart from that Korea, China, Indonesia and Iran lost 1 automatic berth, while Thailand, Uzbekistan and Qatar all gained one. If its going to be run like this, it might as well be an open draw imo, but any who on to who is now automatically in and who now needs to qualify. It is yet to be confirmed which Uzbek team will be joining the East Asian side, but when it is confirmed, we’ll bring it to you here on The Roar Review.

East Asia: Automatic Qualifiers



Brisbane Roar-               2010/11 A-League Premiers and Champions

Central Coast Mariners- 2010/11 A-League Regular Season Runner-up



Kashiwa Reysol-   2011 J-League top 3

Nagoya Grampus- 2011 J-League top 3

Gamba Osaka-      2011 J-League top 3

2011 Emperor’s Cup Winner- Spoke about this yesterday



Guangzhou Evergrande- 2011 Chinese Super League Champions

Tianjin Teda-                   2011 Chinese FA Cup Winners

Beijing Guoan-                2011 Chinese Super League Runner-up


South Korea:

Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors-                  2011 K-League top 2

Seongnam Ilhwa Chunma-                 2011 Korean FA Cup Winners

Pohang Steelers OR Ulsan Hyundai- 2011 K-League top 2



2011 Thai Premier League Champions- Buriram PEA


Qualification Play off Teams:

Pohang Steelers OR Ulsan Hyundai (South Korea)- 2011 K-League 3rd place

Lioning Whowin (China) –                                                 2011 Chinese Super League 3rd place

Adelaide United (Australia) –                                          2010/11 Hyundai A-League Regular Season 3rd place

Persipura Jayapura (Indonesia) –                                2010/11 Indonesian Super League Champions

Thailand FA Cup Winners- (Competition currently in the 5th round, not sure when the expected completion date is.


West Asia: Automatic Qualifiers



Lekhwiya-   2010/2011 Qatari Stars League Champions

Al-Rayyan-  2011 Emir of Qatar Cup Winners

Al-Gharafa- 2010/211 Qatari Stars League Runner-up

Al-Arabi-     2010/2011 Qatari Stars 4th place


Saudi Arabia:

 Al- Hilal-   2010/2011 Saudi Professional League Champions

Al- Ahli-    2011 King Cup of Champions Winners

Al- Ittihad- 2010/2011 Saudi Professional League Runner-up


United Arab Emirates:

Al- Jazira- 2010/2011 UAE Pro-League Champions and President’s Cup Winners

Bani Yas-  2010/2011 UAE Pro-League Runner-up

Al- Nasr-   2010/2011 UAE Pro-League 3rd place



Bundyokor-    2011 Uzbekistan League Champions

Pakhtakor-      2011 Uzbekistan Cup Winners

Nasaf Qarshi- 2011 Uzbekistan League Runner-up



Sepehan-   2010/11 Persian Gulf Cup Winners

Persepolis- 2010/11 Hazfi Cup Winners


Qualification play off teams:

Esteghal (Iran) –                           2010/11 Persian Gulf Runner-up

Zob Ahan (Iran) –                        2010/11 Persian Gulf 3rd place

Al- Ettifaq (Saudi Arabia)-          2010/11 Saudi Professional League 3rd place

Neftchi Farg’ona (Uzbekistan) – 2011 Uzbekistan League 4th place


2 Comments on “AFC change the qualification for the ACL”

  1. Keith M says:

    The way Adelaide is playing this season we should give up our spot to a different side!

    • Hahaha they’ve been pretty terrible havent they, chances are they wont even make it out of the qualification rounds anyway. I’d rather them in than the rabble from Robina thou.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s