McKay, Berisha, Broich named in top 20 players in the A-League

Via Fox Sports: In the lead-up to the new season which kicks off tonight in Sydney, league broadcaster Fox Sports have been counting down their top 20 players in the competition, as voted by their panel of ‘experts’. Brisbane had 3 players ranking in the top 20, with Matt McKay placing 15th, Besart Berisha 8th and Thomas Broich in 5th. Unsurprisingly Sydney’s Alessandro Del Piero was ranked #1. Here’s what they had to say about Brisbane’s trio:

(15) Matt McKay:

McKay may have wait to make his return to Suncorp

McKay may have wait to make his return to Suncorp

Brisbane’s championship-winning skipper returns to the squad and is a real bonus for Mike Mulvey’s side. Back in centre-midfield, we’ll see the Socceroo at his lung-busting best.

(8) Besart Berisha:


The flamboyant, passionate and temperamental Albanian is a favourite at Suncorp Stadium, leading the line for Brisbane Roar. The striker, who has scored 35 goals in his two seasons in the competition, is best remembered for the decisive penalty decision in the 2011-2012 grand final against Perth in the final moments, which secured Ange Postecoglou’s second title. A potent finisher, with wonderful skills and work rate, Berisha is set for a big season playing off some quality providers in Roar’s line-up.

(5) Thomas Broich:


Brisbane’s 32-year-old marquee man shows no sign of losing any of his sublime skills as he enters his fourth season as a Roar player. Among the most fouled players in the competition, Broich will relish the extra space he might get with the addition of playmakers Matt McKay and Liam Miller to Brisbane’s creative stocks. Like the rest of his teammates, the 2012 Johnny Warren Medallist perhaps lost some hunger in the early stages of last season. It was an issue that ultimately played a key part in the Roar’s failure to snare a hat-trick of titles.
However, the man they call Mozart regained his mojo in the latter stages of last season and looms as the key weapon in Brisbane’s bid to regain the championship.

Full top 20 list:
20) Carlos Hernandez (Wellington Phoenix)
19) Mitch Nichols (Melbourne Victory)
18) Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory)
17) Paul Ifill (Wellington Phoenix)
16) Pablo Contreas (Melbourne Victory)
15) Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar)
14) Jeremy Brockie (Wellington Phoenix)
13) Youssouf Hersi (Western Sydney Wanderers)
12) Marcos Flores (Central Coast Mariners)
11) Emile Heskey (Newcastle Jets)
10) Michael McGlinchey (Central Coast Mariners)
9) Marcelo Carrusca (Adelaide United
8) Besart Berisha (Brisbane Roar)
7) Shane Smeltz (Perth Glory)
6) Harry Kewell (Melbourne Heart)
5) Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar)
4) Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United)
3) Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory)
2) Shinji Ono (Western Sydney Wanderers)
1) Alessandro Del Piero (Sydney FC)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s