Brisbane clean up at A-League awards night


Brisbane Roar have scooped up the major honours at the end of season awards for season 9 of the A-League with Thomas Broich and Mike Mulvey picking up the major awards of the night. Brisbane Roar swept up all the major awards of the night, including the prestigious Johnny Warren medal, which was won by Thomas Broich for the second time. It’s been a busy week of award winning for Thomas who has also claimed the Football Media Association (FMA) player of the year, and the SBS player of the year (Les Murray Medal).

In the women’s game, Tameka Butt won the Julie Dolan medal for player of the year, while completing the trio of awards was Brandon Borrello who won NYL player of the year. Brisbane’s boss was also rewarded with Mike Mulvey rewarded for his work this season with the A-League coach of the year award. Brisbane also won the A-League fair play award for the fourth successive season, and 5th in 6 years while the W-League side were in a three way tie for their fair play award.

Elsewhere- it was a big night for young Socceroos and Newcastle striker Adam Taggart- whose 16 goals this season won him both the golden boot and the young player of the year award. Also recognised was Adelaide captain and custodian Eugene Galekovic who won the goalkeeper of the year. Elsewhere Orlando Engelaar won goal of the year for his 50 yard screamer, while Peter Green –who will referee Sunday’s final- won referee of the year.

In the women’s game Melbourne Victory picked up a pair of awards with Stephanie Catley winning young player of the year, while Jessica Fishlock won the players player of the year. Former Matildas captain Melissa Barbieri won the goalkeeper of the year award, with Sally Shipard winning goal of the year. It was also a successful night for the Sky Blue women with coach Alen Stadjic winning coach of the year, while Jodie Foster was the golden boot. The fair play award was also split by Melbourne and Newcastle in a 3 way tie, while Casey Reibelt was referee of the year.

In the youth league, aside from Borrello who won the young player of the year award, the Golden boot winner was Anthony Costa with 14, while Melbourne Victory won the fair play award.

Full list of winners:

A-League 2013/14 Awards
Johnny Warren Medal: Thomas Broich – Brisbane Roar
Young Footballer of the Year: Adam Taggart – Newcastle Jets
Goalkeeper of the Year: Eugene Galekovic – Adelaide United
Golden Boot Award: Adam Taggart – Newcastle Jets (16 Goals)
Goal of the Year Orlando Engelaar: (for Melbourne Heart, R.24 v Central Coast)
Coach of the Year: Mike Mulvey (Brisbane Roar)
Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar
Referee of the Year: Peter Green

W-League 2013/14 Awards
Julie Dolan Medal: Tameka Butt (Brisbane Roar)
Young Player of the Year: Stephanie Catley (Melbourne Victory)
Player’s Player of the Year: Jessica Fishlock (Melbourne Victory)
Goalkeeper of the Year: Melissa Barbieri (Adelaide United)
Golden Boot: Jodie Taylor (Sydney FC) 10 goals
Goal of the Year: Sally Shipard (for Canberra United, round 11 v Newcastle Jets)
Coach of the Year: Alen Stajcic (Sydney FC)
Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets FC
Referee of the Year: Casey Reibelt

National Youth League 2013/14 Awards
Player of the Year: Brandon Borrello (Brisbane Roar)
Golden Boot: Anthony Costa (Adelaide United) 14 Goals*
Fair Play Award: Melbourne Victory


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s