FFA Cup Qualification update


It’s the off-season in the A-League, but across the nation teams in the National Premier Leagues and beyond are vying for a spot in the FFA Cup Round of 32.

The Cup, now in it’s second year was a revelation in the early weeks of last year and will only continue to grow as the competition creates it’s own history.

Adelaide United ran out inaugural winners of the cup, defeating Perth Glory in the final, while Brisbane were eliminated in the Round of 16 by the eventual winners.

For this season, Brisbane’s round of 32 tie figures to be an all A-League affair, with the bottom six of the A-League playing off against one another.

Over 600 teams have been vying for a spot in the draw, however breakdown of where the last 32 come from has changed from last year, with spots for a Northern Territory team, and the winner of last years NPL Finals series allocated. Here’s the breakdown:

A-League (10)
NPL Finals (1)
New South Wales (5)
Northern NSW (2)
Queensland (4)
Victoria (4)
Western Australia (2)
South Australia (1)
Tasmania (1)
ACT (1)
Northern Territory (1)

Before we go through the qualifiers recently completed and upcoming, 19 teams have already booked their spot in the last 32, with Qualifying in NSW and Tasmania already completed.

A-League (10)
Adelaide United, Brisbane Roar, Central Coast Mariners, Melbourne City, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets, Perth Glory, Sydney FC, Wellington Phoenix, Western Sydney Wanderers.

NPL Finals (1)
North East MetroStars SC.

New South Wales (5)
Sydney Olympic, Sydney United 58, Blacktown City, Balmain Tigers, Rockdale City Suns.

Queensland (3)
Far North Queensland Heat, Brisbane Strikers, Lions FC.

Tasmania (1)
South Hobart FC

Starting with the qualifiers here in Queensland, and 3 of the 4 spots have been filled, with Brisbane’s two representatives confirmed this week in addition to FNQ Heat who will represent the North of the state for the second straight year.

The fourth and final spot, which belongs to the Wide Bay/GC/SC/SW Qld regions is down to three teams with Noosa Lions coming up with a massive upset against NPL side Sunshine Coast Fire.

Round 6
United Warriors FC vs. Noosa Lions FC
Winner will move on to play Palm Beach Sharks in Round 7 for a spot in the FFA Cup Round of 32.

The draw for Round 7 down in Victoria was made earlier in the week. Ties will be played on June 24th-25th.

South Melbourne FC vs. Frankston Pines FC
Hume City FC vs. Kingston City FC
South Springvale SC vs. Oakleigh Cannons FC
Heidelberg United FC vs. Goulburn Valley Suns FC
Winners will progress to the FFA Cup Round of 32.

Northern New South Wales
They’re up to Round 6 in Northern NSW qualifiers, with the Northern Pool and Southern Pool combining into one for the final two rounds.

Round 6 will be played on June 20th
Coffs City United FC vs. Edgeworth FC
South Armidale United FC vs. Broadmeadow Magic FC
Jesmond FC vs. West Wallsend SFC
Valentine FC vs. Adamstown Rosebud FC
Winners progress to round 7, where the final four teams will compete for two spots in the FFA Cup Round of 32.

Western Australia
They’re down to the final 4 over in the West, with all four sides 90 minutes from qualifying.

Round 7 (to be played June 21st-22nd)
Bayswater City SC vs., Sorrento FC
Perth SC vs. Gwelup Croatia
Winners progress to the FFA Cup Round of 32

South Australia
In SA , they’re down to the final two sides, with last year’s qualifiers Adelaide City hosting Croydon Kings (Rocky Visconte’s club)

Round 7 (Date to be confirmed)
Adelaide City vs. Croydon Kings
Winner progress to the FFA Cup Round of 32

They’re down to the final round of qualifying in the Nations Capital, with Belconnen United and Gungahlin United the only teams left standing. Belconnen knocked out last year’s ACT Qualifiers –Tuggeranong United- in Round 6

Round 7
Belconnen United vs. Gungahlin United
Winner Progresses to the FFA Cup Round of 32

Northern Territory
Finally, in the first year of Northern Territory qualifying they’re up to Round 6, with qualifying divided into Darwin and Alice Springs Regions.

Round 6 (to be played June 16th)
Darwin region- Casuarina FC vs. Darwin Olympic
Alice Springs region- Celtic FC vs. Gillen Scorpions Round 7 (to be played June 27th)
Winner of Darwin playoff vs. Winner of Alice Springs playoff Winner progresses to the FFA Cup Round of 32


2 Comments on “FFA Cup Qualification update”

  1. David says:

    i’d like to see Youth players get soem time on the park during this tournament. I think the games at the end of the season showed that many of them are already capable of playing at this level. In addition most already compete in the current NPL side. Chalmers, Jackson, Brady, Clut, DÁgostino are a few that quickly come to mind.

  2. brisman says:

    Thanks for that information. I have been trying to find out this information and found it hard. The FFA site seemed to focus mainly on ACT and Vic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s