Liverpool confirm travelling squad for Roar, Reds friendlies


Brisbane will take on EPL side Liverpool FC on Friday night at Suncorp Stadium in a which figures to be telling in the direction of both sides. Liverpool for their part will be looking to play themselves into form with Europa League qualifiers on the horizon, while more importantly from a Brisbane perspective it’s the first game of the John Aloisi era after he was appointed head coach in late May.

The game is still six days away, but with the English side about to begin their tour in Thailand, they have announced a travelling party of thirty players for their five game tour of Thailand, Australia, Malaysia and Finland. In addition to the game against Brisbane, Liverpool will play a Thailand Premier League XI on Tuesday, before continuing on to Adelaide on Monday week. Then it’s on to Malaysia to take on a select XI  before concluding their tour in Helsinki on August 1st.

The 18 tine English champions have seen key players like Steven Gerrard and Luis Suarez depart in the past 12 months, but the travelling group still includes players such as captain Jordan Henderson, in addition to established internationals like Simon Mingolet, Adam Lallana and Dejan Lovren.

New signings Nathaniel Clyne, Joe Gomez, Adam Bogdan, Danny Ings and James Millner will all travel, as will Raheem Sterling who has stated he wasn’t keen on the trip as he is continually linked with a move away.

Italian international Mario Balotelli will however miss the tour, as will fellow Italian striker Fabio Borini, versatile German Emre Can, defender Jose Enrique and English international Daniel Sturridge. Philippe Coutinho and new signing Roberto Firmino will also miss the tour as they rest after representing Brazil at the recent Copa America.

Touring party for Liverpool’s tour of Thailand, Australia, Malaysia and Finland.
Goalkeepers: Simon Mingolet, Adam Bogdan, Ryan Fulton.
Defenders: Nathaniel Clyne, Joe Gomez, Dejan Lovren, Alberto Moreno, Kolo Toure, Andre Wisdom, Martin Skrtel, Mamadou Sakho, Daniel Cleary, Joe Maguire, Pedro Chirivella.
Midfielders: Joe Allen, Jordan Henderson, Lucas Levia, James Millner, Adam Lallana, Jordan Ibe, Jordan Rossiter, Joao Carlos Teixeira, Harry Wilson.
Forwards: Lazar Markovic, Raheem Sterling, Danny Ings, Rickie Lambers, Divok Origi, Sheyi Ojo.

Brisbane Roar are yet to announce their squad for the game, however it’s highly likely that the game will be primarily played by the A-League contracted players, while some of the clubs better youth products will likely get some time off the bench.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s