Jamie Maclaren named Young player of the year at Dolan-Warren awards night


Brisbane striker Jamie Maclaren wrapped up a fantastic season in style by winning the A-League Young Player of the Year at the Dolan-Warren awards night in Sydney. Teammates Dimitri Petratos and Brandon Borrello were also nominated, as were Melbourne’s Jason Geria and Adelaide’s Stefan Mauk, but it was the Brisbane no.9 – who netted 20 times this season- who won the award.

Maclaren becomes just the second Brisbane player to win the award, after Tommy Oar was victorious in the 2009-10 season where he was a standout on the left hand side before departing for FC Utrecht. Brisbane also won the A-League fair play award for a record 6th time for accruing the lowest tally of yellow and red cards for the home and away season. Brisbane previously won the award for four successive seasons from 2010/11 through 2013-14 in addition to the 2008-09 season.

The biggest awards of the night, the Johnny Warren and Julie Dolan medals –awarded to the A-League and W-League player of the year respectively, and the race was close. In the A-League Perth’s marquee man Diego Castro (34pts), narrowly beat Melbourne City talisman Aaron Mooy (33) to win to become the second Glory player to win the top award after Bobby Despotovski in the leagues inaugural season. Brisbane’s Jamie Maclaren and City’s Bruno Fornaroli finished in equal third on 27 points.

Canberra’s Ashleigh Sykes beat the likes of City’s Lisa de Vanna and Brisbane’s Katrina Gorry to take home the Julie Dolan medal after a solid season which saw Canberra finish second before losing their Semi-Final to Sydney FC.

In the A-League, Melbourne City striker Bruno Fornaroli collected the A-Leagues Golden Boot while his teammate took home the goalkeeper of the year award. Premiers Adelaide didn’t go home empty handed, with Guillermo Amor taking home the award for coach of the year, while fellow Grand Finalists Western Sydney Wanderers took home the inaugural Community Champion award and Jarred Gillett was named referee of the year for a third time.

Despite winning the wooden spoon for the first time in club history, there was some success for the Central Coast Mariners, with Roy O’Donovan’s volley against Adelaide United in round 25 defeating more fancied options to claim goal of the year.

Undefeated Champions of the W-League Melbourne City might not have seen of their many stars win the Julie Dolan medal, but outstanding midfielder Kim Little did continue the success for City in their debut season. Former Roar striker Larissa Crummer, who joined City in the off-season, then won two awards of her own with young player of the year, and the Golden boot thanks to her 11 goals. City also won the fair play award to round out a very successful debut season.

In other awards, Newcastle manger Craig Deans took out coach of the year honours after the unfancied Jets to 5th and narrowly missing the finals, while Perth Glory’s American import Vanessa Di Bartolo won goal of the year for her sensational lob against Brisbane Roar in Round 5. Meanwhile young Adelaide United goalkeeper Kaitlyn Savage won the goalkeeper of the year award, while Kate Jacewicz won the referee of the year award for the sixth time in the eight seasons of the W-League.

In the National Youth League, Adelaide’s Dylan Smith took out the player of the year award. Melbourne Victory’s young striker Joey Katebian took out the Golden Boot while the fair play award was taken home by the Newcastle Jets.

A-League award Winners 2015-16
Johnny Warren Medal- Diego Castro (Perth Glory)
Young Player of the Year- Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar)
Golden Boot- Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne City)
Goalkeeper of the Year- Thomas Sorensen (Melbourne City)
Coach of the Year- Guillermo Amor (Adelaide United)
Goal of the Year- Roy O’Donovan (Central Coast Mariners)
Fair Play Award- Brisbane Roar
Referee of the Year- Jarred Gillett
Community Champion Award- Western Sydney Wanderers

W-League Award Winners 2015-16
Julie Dolan Medal- Ashleigh Sykes (Canberra United)
W-League players’ player- Kim Little (Melbourne City)
Young Player of the Year- Larissa Crummer (Melbourne City)
Goalkeeper of the Year- Kaitlyn Savage (Adelaide United)
Golden Boot- Larissa Crummer (Melbourne City)
Coach of the Year- Craig Deans (Newcastle Jets)
Goal of the Year- Vanessa Di Bernardo (Perth Glory)
Fair Play Award- Melbourne City
Referee of the Year- Kate Jacewicz

National Youth League Award Winners 2015-16
Player of the Year- Dylan Smith (Adelaide United)
Golden Boot- Joey Katebian (Melbourne Victory)
Fair Play Award- Newcastle Jets


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s