FFA Cup Draw Preview


Tomorrow afternoon the draw for the 2016 FFA Cup Round of 32 takes place in Sydney, with teams all across the country eagerly anticipating who they may draw. For the member federation clubs, it’s especially exciting to consider the possibility of hosting one of the ten A-League clubs at their ground.

For Brisbane Roar, the FFA Cup Round of 32 marks the start of the new campaign, with this game set to be the first competitive hit out of the 2016-17 season. In the two previous seasons, Brisbane have drawn away ties in the Round of 32, with a trip to Perth to take on Stirling Lions in 2014, before an all A-League tie against Western Sydney last year.

Throw in Brisbane’s round of 16 clash with Adelaide, and the Roar have played all three of their games in this competition on the road, yielding a return of one win and two defeats.

Brisbane however wont be the only side from Queensland represented in the draw, with perennial qualifiers Brisbane Strikers and Far North Queensland Heat once again navigating their way through the rounds to reach the national stage for the third consecutive year.

This time around they will be joined by a pair of newcomers, with Redlands United taking the second Brisbane Zone berth, while Surfers Paradise Apollo caused the shock of the qualifying rounds by beating Gold Coast City, South West Queensland Thunder and Sunshine Coast FC to reach the national round of 32.

For the five Queensland sides, and the remaining 27 from Australia –and New Zealand- all eyes now turn to the draw, however changes to the draw procedure throw things up in the air more than in previous seasons.

With the Roar finishing third in the A-League last season, in years gone by that would have guaranteed another game on the road against a member federation club, however with the FFA changing that rule it’s now possible they could draw an A-League opponent for the second straight year.

This year, the ten A-League clubs will be throw into one pot, with three all A-League ties, while four clubs will be drawn to play against member federation clubs. The other 18 member federation clubs not drawn to play an A-League side will be drawn in one of nine all member federation ties.

In the draw, each club has been issued a specific number which represents them, for Brisbane Roar that is number 2. Below is the full 2016 Round of 32 entry list, and accompanying draw number.

1) Adelaide United, 2) Brisbane Roar, 3) Central Coast Mariners, 4) Melbourne City, 5) Melbourne Victory, 6) Newcastle Jets, 7) Perth Glory, 8) Sydney FC, Wellington Phoenix, 10) Western Sydney Wanderers.

Member Federation
11) Bentleigh Greens (VIC), 12) Blacktown City (NSW), 13) Bonnyrigg White Eagles (NSW), 14) Brisbane Strikers (QLD), 15) Canberra Olympic (ACT), 16) Cockburn City (WA), 17) Devonport Strikers (TAS), 18) Edgeworth Eagles (NSW), 19) FNQ Heat (QLD), 20) Floreat Athena (WA), 21) Green Gully (VIC), 22) Hume City (VIC), 23)Lambton Jaffas (NSW), 24) Manly United (NSW), 25) Marconi Stallions (NSW), 26) Melbourne Knights (VIC), 27 MetroStars (SA), Redlands United (QLD), 29 Rovers Darwin FC (NT), 30) Surfers Paradise Apollo (QLD), 31) Sydney United (NSW), 32) Wollongong Wolves (NSW).

The order of the draw will be as follows
– 3 all A-League ties (6 teams)
– 9 all Member Federation ties (18 teams)
– 4 A-League v Member Federation ties (8 teams)

The draw will be broadcast live on Fox Sports News and live streamed on the FFA Cup website. Here’s hoping for a couple of home ties here in Brisbane for the Queensland teams, and hopefully a first ever home tie for the Roar should they draw an A-League side.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s