NPL u-23 All-Stars game squad announced

The NPL Queensland u-23 All-Stars squad which will take on the Roar later this month was announced today and it brings together some of the most talented footballers in the state.

Gold Coast City and Brisbane City are the two most represented clubs in the 18 man provisional squad with four players a piece from each side, while Premiers Brisbane Strikers.

One of the big features of the squad is the presence of a number of players who’ve previously represented the Roar’s youth side with six players in the provisional squad.

Jaiden Walker, Sam Cronin, Benjamin Lyvidikos, Luke Pavlou, Mitchell Hore and Benjamin Litfin will all definitely get the chance to play their former side, while Samuel Sibatuara finds himself on the stand by list.

Perhaps surprisingly, just the one player who played in Saturday nights season finale –Cameron Nucifora of FNQ Heat- has been selected in the provisional side, while Kai Halliday from Redlands is one of the players on the stand by list.

That stand by list could come into play, depending on the result of Brisbane Strikers’ participation in the 2016 NPL Finals Series, which will see the Queensland Premiers host ACT Premier Canberra Olympic at Perry Park on September 17th.

A win in that game would then see the Strikers play in a Semi-Final the following week, a game which would clash with the All-Stars clash with the Roar.

Goalkeepers- Samuel Nickolls (Sunshine Coast FC), Shane Vitikangas (Gold Coast City) Defenders: Scott Halliday (Brisbane City), Jake Marshall (Brisbane Strikers), Kai Smith (Brisbane City), Jaiden Walker (Gold Coast City).

Midfielders- Finn Beakhurst (Moreton Bay United), Matthew Capelo (Moreton Bay United), Sam Cronin (Olympic), Benjamin Lyvidikos (Gold Coast City), Cameron Nucifora (FNQ Heat), Luke Pavlou (Brisbane City), Mitchell Hore (Brisbane City), Benjamin Litfin (Gold Coast City).

Forwards- Joseph Duckworth (Western Pride), Fraser Hills (Brisbane Strikers), Luke Marsh (Brisbane Strikers), Bonventure Thomas-Remijo (Western Pride).

Shadow Players- Kai Halliday (Redlands United), Mustafa Jafari (SWQ Thunder), Mory Kone (Gold Coast City), Samuel Langley (Redlands United), Samuel Sibatuara (Brisbane City), Martin Vazquez (Gold Coast City)

Brisbane Roar vs. NPL Queensland/23
Saturday September 24th. 3.00pm
Queensland Sports & Athletics Centre


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s