Match Preview- Brisbane v NPL Queensland u-23 Select

For the Roar this is the teams last organised game ahead of the round one clash with Melbourne Victory, so expect a strong starting XI and high intensity as players fight for a spot in John Aloisi’ team.

Tommy Oar and Jamie Young missed the clash with Perth midweek due to injury and it’s unlikely either will be risked ahead of the season opener, while Brett Holman who also missed the clash with the Glory is set to make his first appearance since joining Brisbane earlier this month.

As this is the final game of the pre-season it’s likely that Aloisi will test his full strength side for atleast the first half before mass changes either at half time or throughout the second half in order to give the everyone a run out ahead of the first round.

Due to the Brisbane Strikers progression in the 2016 NPL National Finals Series, Jake Marshall, Fraser Hills and Luke Marsh have been withdrawn from the squad as the Strikers travel to Sydney for their semi-final clash with Sydney United.

In their place are Redlands duo Grant Brix and Kai Halliday, while the addition of Brisbane City midfielder Samuel Sibatuara takes the contingent of former Brisbane Roar players to seven.

Sibatuara will be joined by former Young Roar teammates Benjamin Lyvidikos, Luke Pavlou, Sam Cronin, Ben Litfin, Mitchell Hore, and Jaiden Walker in the 18 man squad.

Last year the likes of Jayden Prasad and Harrison Sawyer all earned a berth in Brisbane’s National Youth League side with strong showings in the clash so the opportunity is there for somebody to earn a spot in the youth side or perhaps even the first team with vacancies currently.

NPL Queensland u-23 Squad
1. Shane Vitikangas (Gold Coast City FC), 2. Benjamin Lyvidikos (Gold Coast City FC), 3. Kai Smith (Brisbane City FC), 4. Kai Halliday (Redlands United FC), 5. Grant Brix (Redlands United FC), 6. Luke Pavlou (Brisbane City FC), 7. Sam Cronin (Olympic FC), 8. Ben Litfin (Gold Coast City FC), 9. Joseph Duckworth (Western Pride FC), 10. Mitchell Hore (Brisbane City FC), 11. Finn Beakhurst (Moreton Bay United FC), 12. Scott Halliday (Brisbane City FC), 13. Matthew Capelo (Moreton Bay United FC), 14. Cameron Nucifora (FNQ FC Heat), 15. Jaiden Walker (Gold Coast City FC), 16. Samuel Sibatuara (Brisbane City FC), 17. Bonventure Thomas- Remijo (Western Pride FC), 18. Samuel Nickolls (Sunshine Coast FC).

Brisbane Roar v NPL Queensland Under 23
Saturday, September 24 | 3:00PM
Queensland Sport & Athletics Centre, Brisbane



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s