2016-17 W-League squad announced

Brisbane’s 2016-17 W-League squad is beginning to take shape with the announcement of 15 players announced today as part of the side as preparations for the new season continue.

Matildas goalkeeper Mackenzie Arnold headlines the new recruits for the side with the 2016 Olympian departing Perth Glory to return to Queensland with the Roar.

Orlando Pride midfielder Maddy Evans and FC Rosengard defender Nina Frausing Pedersen  will also link up with the squad ahead of the new season.

Sunny Franco, who made 14 appearances for Brisbane before switching to Sydney FC for the last season also makes her return to the Roar for the upcoming season.

Long time squad members and Matildas Clare Polkinghorne and Katrina Gorry are back with the Roar despite the recent speculation regarding their contracts, as is foundation squad player Brooke Spence.

Amongst the more notable absentees from the 15 player list are Matildas duo Tameka Butt and Emily Gielnik, and New Zealand international Kristy Yallop.

Butt, a foundation member of the W-League side has made 86 appearances for the Roar and is the teams top scoring finding the net 42 times.

Other members of the squad from last season not named include goalkeepers Hayley Kopmeyer and Carrie Simpson, central defender Ruth Blackburn, midfielders Ayesha Norrie and Ashley Spina, and attacking duo Gabe Marzano and Sophie Persson.

With just 15 players currently contracted there’s still a couple of places in the squad open, so some of those not currently re-signed from last years squad may yet be apart of the 2016-17 campaign.

Brisbane open their 2016-17 W-League campaign at home to Sydney FC on November 11th at Dunmore Park in Toowong.

2016-17 Brisbane Roar W-League Squad
Goalkeepers- Mackenzie Arnold, Georgina Worth.
Defenders- Angela Beard, Clare Polkinghorne, Brooke Spence, Summer O’Brien, Nina Frausing-Pedersen.
Midfielders- Katrina Gorry, Sunny Franco, Maddy Evans, Allira Toby, Kaitlyn Torpey.
Forwards- Amy Chapman, Malli Forbes, Cortnee Vine.
Meanwhile in the women’s game, Cortnee Vine has today been announced in the Young Matildas squad for the AFC u-19 Championship qualifiers, which will take place from November 2-6 in Nanjing, China.

This is the start of the Young Matildas journey to qualify for the 2018 u-20 Womens World Cup in France, with the girls playing Jordan and Northern Mariana Islands in this phase of qualifying.

The top placed side in the group will progress to the 2017 AFC u-19 Championships which will take place next year in China.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s