Maclaren, Petratos nominated for PFA Awards

Jamie Maclaren and Dimitri Petratos have been nominated for the Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) awards.

Jamie Maclaren, who scored 20 goals last season earning his first call-up to the National Team is nominated for Footballer of the Year award.

Maclaren is also nominated for the Harry Kewell Young Player medal, along with Dimitri Petratos and ex Roar player Jason Geria for the u/23 player of the year with the duo rewarded for their strong form for Brisbane over the last 12 months.

In the Women’s category, there are no current Brisbane players on the shortlist, however former Roar midfielder Elise Kellond-Knight made the cut.

Full list of nominees
Footballer of the Year
Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne City)
Aaron Mooy (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar)
Mat Ryan (Valencia)
Mathieu Delpierre (Retired)
Matthew Leckie (Ingolstadt)

U-23 Player of the Year
Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar)
Dimitri Petratos (Brisbane Roar)
Jason Geria (Melbourne Victory)
Stefan Mauk (NEC Nijmegen)
Alex Gersbach (Rosenborg)
Jimmy Jeggo (Sturm Graz)

Female player of the Year
Emily van Egmond (Wolfsburg)
Lydia Williams (Melbourne City)
Alanna Kennedy (Sydney FC)
Elise Kellond-Knight (Turbine Potsdam)
Caitlin Foord (Sydney FC)

The awards are voted on by the players and the winners will be announced next Tuesday night at a Gala Dinner, held at the Crown Palladium in Melbourne.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s