McKay signs one year extension

Brisbane Roar captain Matt McKay has signed a one year contract extension which will keep the midfielder in Brisbane through the end of the 2017-18 season.

A-League Elimination Final - Brisbane v Melbourne

“I am very happy and proud to be staying with the Brisbane Roar for another season. When the club approached me it was an easy decision. I’m a Brisbane boy and love the city. More importantly, I believe in the group of players we have at the Roar. From the coaching staff to the players, I can sense a real drive and hunger to succeed. I’m determined to continue building our great club and win more titles.”
-Matt McKay

McKay, now 33, was a member of Miron Bleiberg’s foundation Queensland Roar squad back in 2005 and has gone on to make 215 appearances across all competitions since making his debut against New Zealand Knights.

Those 215 appearances -207 in the League- put him at the top of the leaderboard on both tables, with his 23 goals placing 7th on the all-time table.

Brisbane’s midfield has undergone a fair bit of change in the past two years, and there could be more on the way ahead of next season with the likes of Thomas Kristensen, Dimitri Petratos and Jacob Pepper out of contract at seasons end.

It was always expected that McKay would remain in Brisbane for next season, but with the deal for the clubs popular, home-grown captain done early in the piece Brisbane can now focus on retaining some of their other stars which include the likes of Thomas Broich and Jamie Maclaren.

All up Brisbane have 11 players remaining out of contract, with Michael Theo, Jade North, Luke DeVere, Manuel Arana, Thomas Broich, Jamie Maclaren, Joey Katebian and Nicholas D’Agostino joining Kristensen, Petratos and Pepper on the list.

The re-signing of McKay takes the number of players contracted for next season to 12 players, with both marquee positions filled, although the full allotment of five visa spots are unfilled.

Brisbane Roar squad as at 6/12/2016
Goalkeepers- Jamie Young Defenders- Daniel Bowles, Corey Brown, Jack Hingert, Connor O’Toole, Kye Rowles.
Midfielders- Shannon Brady, Joe Caletti, Brett Holman, Matt McKay, Tommy Oar.
Forwards- Brandon Borrello.

Out of contract- Manuel Arana, Thomas Broich, Nicholas D’Agostino, Luke DeVere, Joey Katebian, Thomas Kristensen, Jamie Maclaren, Jade North, Jacob Pepper, Dimitri Petratos, Michael Theo.


One Comment on “McKay signs one year extension”

  1. […] McKay signs one year extension → […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s