Kristensen signs 2 year contract extension

Brisbane Roar have re-signed Danish midfielder Thomas Kristensen to a new two year contract extension, taking him through the 2018-19 season.



(Chris Hyde/Getty Images AsiaPac)

“I’m really pleased to commit my future to Brisbane, it was an easy decision. It’s nice for myself and my family to know where our future lies, the focus now is to continue to perform well in the remaining Hyundai A-league matches.”
– Thomas Kristensen

Kristensen, 33, arrived in Brisbane back in July as a replacement for Spanish midfielder Corona, who returned to Spain.

The Danish midfielder has been an ever-present for the Roar so far in 2016-17, missing just the one game so far this season and bringing a defensive solidity to the midfield which had been lacking in previous seasons.

His partnership with Matt McKay at the base of midfield – in addition to fellow recruit Brett Holman- has been the fulcrum through which Brisbane’s array of attacking talent have built their attacks this season.

While nominally a defensive midfielder Kristensen has also made a telling contribution at the other end of the park, with his four goals so far this season the second most of any Brisbane player.

The re-signing of Kristensen gives Brisbane’s midfield going forward more clarity, with Matt McKay and Brett Holman also signed up through the end of the 2017-18 season, as is youngster Joe Caletti. Seldom used Jacob Pepper, Scholarship player Nathan Konstandopoulos and Dimitri Petratos are the now the only parts of the current midfield out of contract at seasons end.

The signing of Kristensen takes Brisbane’s 2017-18 squad to 13 players, with one visa spot and both marquee positions taken up. Kristensen’s deal also will see him become one of the four non- AFC visa players in 2018-19, when the changes to the visa rules come into affect.

Brisbane Roar 2017-18 squad as at 16/01/2017
Goalkeepers- Jamie Young
Defenders- Daniel Bowles, Corey Brown, Jack Hingert, Connor O’Toole, Kye Rowles.
Midfielders- Shannon Brady, Joe Caletti, Brett Holman, Thomas Kristensen, Matt McKay, Tommy Oar.
Forwards- Brandon Borrello.

Out of contract at seasons end- Manuel Arana, Thomas Broich, Nicholas D’Agostino, Luke DeVere, Nathan Konstandopoulos, Jamie Maclaren, Jade North, Dimitri Petratos, Jacob Pepper, Michael Theo.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s