Three more depart Young Roar squad


(Twitter/ @andrejannese)

In recent weeks we’ve brought you news around several Young Roar players departing the setup, with Jayden Prasad and Danny Kim joining Hume City and Joseph Champness joining Newcastle Jets. There have been three more players depart ahead of the 2017 NPL Queensland campaign however.

The first of those is goalkeeper Andre Jannese, who has returned to Victoria and joined NPL 2 Victorian side Moreland Zebras. Jannese, who arrived ahead of the 2015-16 NYL season from the AIS, has fallen beneath Tomislav Bilic in the pecking order amongst the Brisbane goalkeeping ranks.

It signals a turnaround of fortunes for both Jannese and Bilic, with the former finding himself on the bench numerous times last season while Michael Theo was injured. This time around however it’s Bilic who has taken over the reserve goalkeeper spot as John Aloisi rotates his shot stoppers between League and Continental commitments.

Jannese has now as mentioned returned to Victoria in NPL 2, where he has made three appearances so far for his new club, who find themselves second on the table.

Joining Jannese on the way out of the Young Roar are two players who only joined the club towards the end of 2016, with defender Hayden McHenery and striker Joe Duckworth returning to their former club Western Pride.

McHenery, who joined the Young Roar as part of a mid-season reshuffle back in June, made seven appearances for the Roar in the 2016 NPL Queensland season at centre back, although he failed to make an appearance over the National Youth League.

Duckworth, who also joined Brisbane from Western Pride, made just the one appearance for the Young Roar in the round one 3-3 draw at home to Melbourne Victory. Duckworth started that game on the left hand side of a front three, however he was substituted at half time and was unsighted for the remainder of the campaign.

As mentioned the duo will return to their former club Western Pride to where they will be joined by another former Young Roar player, with striker Dylan Wenzel-Halls joining the Ipswich side after departing the Young Roar at the end of the last NPL season.

When you add in Jannese, McHenery and Duckworth, the list of players who have departed the Young Roar set-up since the end of the 2016 NPL Queensland is up to 10 players.

The full list of players who’ve departed the Young Roar in the last few months- Joseph Champness, Jesse Daley, Joe Duckworth, Henry Hore, Andre Jannese, Danny Kim, Hayden McHenery, Jayden Prasad, Harrison Sawyer, Dylan Wenzel-Halls.

There’s certainly something happening with the Young Roar squad and as mentioned previously it will be very interesting to see who lines up for the side in this weekends season opener away to Olympic FC.

Kick-off in Brisbane’s first NPL Queensland clash of 2017 is set for 7.00pm on Saturday night, although getting from Suncorp Stadium for the A-League clash to Goodwin Park by 7.00pm would be a stretch.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s