Theo stays as Katebian, Maclaren, Broich depart.


(Stefan Gosatti/Getty Images AsiaPac)

According to Marco Monteverde Michael Theo will extend his stay in Brisbane to an eighth season after signing a contract extension through the end of the 2017-18 season.

All up Theo has made 166 appearances in all competitions for Brisbane since arriving back in 2010 which sees him rank behind only Matt McKay and Thomas Broich on the all time appearances tally.

This season has seen Theo overcome the injury issues which have seen him spend time on the sidelines, making 26 appearances in all competitions.

The season however ended with Theo on the sidelines with a knee injury after a collision with Brendon Santalab after making a point blank save which kept Brisbane level with Western Sydney in the Elimination Final.

With Theo now officially re-signed Brisbane will retain the same goalkeeping duo for the third fourth successive season, with Jamie Young also contracted until the end of the 2017-18 season. The signing also takes Brisbane’s 2017-18 squad to 16 players, with both marquee spaces taken and four of the five visa spaces open.

While Theo has re-signed, Marco also confirmed that Jamie Maclaren and Thomas Broich would be departing the Roar after this weeks ACL game with Ulsan, while a decision on the future of Manuel Arana would wait until after his post-season surgery.

Also heading for the exit door is striker Joey Katebian, who announced his departure at the weekend via his Instagram account. Katebian made just the six appearances for Brisbane since joining from Melbourne Victory, with both of his starts coming in the AFC Champions League.

Meanwhile Jacob Pepper, Avram Papadopoulos and Joe Caletti are likely to remain in Brisbane next season according to Monteverde.

Brisbane squad for 2017-18 as of 08/05/2017
Goalkeepers- Michael Theo, Jamie Young.
Defenders- Daniel Bowles, Corey Brown, Luke DeVere, Jack Hingert, Jade North, Connor O’Toole, Kye Rowles,
Midfielders- Brett Holman, Thomas Kristensen, Matt McKay, Tommy Oar.
Forwards- Brandon Borrello, Shannon Brady, Nicholas D’Agostino.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s