Roar retain NPL Status for 2018 season

Brisbane Roar Youth have retained their place in NPL Queensland competition after Football Queensland announced the restructuring of the competition today.

The 12 current NPL Queensland sides will all retain their status in the state’s top flight competition and be joined by two new teams, with Richlands based Lions FC and Central Queensland side Mackay & Whitsundays Magpies Crusaders United joining the newly expanded 14 team competition.

Lions FC are a name familiar to those who follow the game locally here in Brisbane and as the 2016 Champions of the Brisbane Premier League bring an additional power to the competitions Brisbane based clubs.

The competitions second new side Mackay and Whitsundays Magpies Crusaders United might be a long name but it’s an amalgamation of two strong clubs in the region, Mackay Crusaders and Magpies FC.

In addition to the NPL Queensland competition the successful applicants for the states new second division –Football Queensland Premier League- were also announced, with a plethora of Brisbane Premier League sides making the jump.

Easts, Holland Park Hawks, Ipswich Knights, Logan Lighting, Mitchelton, Peninsula Power, Rochedale Rovers, Souths United, Southside Eagles and Wolves FC all make the jump from either the Brisbane Premier League or Capital Leagues and will provide a strong capital city presence in the second tier.

They’ll be joined by four new regional sides, with  Gold Coast Athletic, Gold Coast Galaxy, Sunshine Coast Wanderers and Wide Bay all joining the competition to provide a pathway in the game for players in their regions.

At the end of the season, two sides will be relegated from the NPL Queensland and replaced by two promoted teams from the Football Queensland Premier League.

Promotion and relegation is expected to be decided by results in the senior competition, as well as the u-20’s and u-18’s, with concessions given to the regional sides and the Young Roar in the initial seasons.

For Brisbane Roar the additional competition will provide a strong test for the clubs talented young players as they look to make their way from the youth ranks into the senior A-League squad.

In addition to competing in the National Youth League over the summer months, participation in the NPL Queensland provides the pathway for players to compete year round and improve upon their games

2018 NPL Queensland participating clubs
Brisbane City, Brisbane Olympic, Brisbane Roar Youth, Brisbane Strikers, Far North Queensland Heat, Gold Coast City, Lions FC, Mackay & Whitsundays Magpies Crusaders United, Moreton Bay United, Northern Fury, Redlands United, South West Queensland Thunder, Sunshine Coast FC, Western Pride. 2018

Football Queensland Premier League participating clubs
Easts, Gold Coast Athletic, Gold Coast Galaxy, Holland Park Hawks, Ipswich Knights, Logan Lightning, Mitchelton FC, Peninsula Power, Rochedale Rovers, Southside Eagles, Souths United, Sunshine Coast Wanderers, Wide Bay, Wolves FC.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s